Advance: Home
 


  • SIGMA 10 – Epic XC::16751
  • Technology & Features::16760
  • FAQ::16979
  • Technical Data::16777
  • Colours::16789
  • Downloads::17187
  • Reviews::19656

SIGMA 10 - Epic XC

The SIGMA 10 continues the story of the legendary SIGMA Series. With an aspect ratio of 6.16 and 66 cells the ADVANCE XC flagship is positioned at the centre of the EN/LTF C class. The high-tech sportster combines outstanding performance with sporty dynamic and distinguished colours. The best starting point for epic cross country experiences.
  • Performance benchmark for Sport Class

    The profile of the SIGMA 10 is based on a new technological platform, which completely frees it from its predecessor. One result is an immense leap in performance. The XC Sportster is not only fast; it can also make the most of en-route climbs. Its balanced pitch behaviour, directional stability and good absorption of turbulence even improve its performance in bumpy air.

    The new Sportiness

    The SIGMA 10 delights with its pleasantly spirited handling which allows the pilot to feel the sportiness of the wing. The canopy eagerly grasps a thermal, and the smallest steering input is answered directly and precisely. This playful but effective handling not only allows long distances to be flown without tiredness, but is also your guarantee of much flying fun.

    The Most Modern Features

    The SIGMA 10 includes the very latest performance-enhancing state-of-the-art technologies. Tension and weight optimised Sliced Diagonals ensure perfect load distribution inside the wing, the Advanced Air Scoop for well-mannered stall behaviour, C-Wires for maximal profile shape stability and Miniribs for a clean trailing edge.

  • performing
    sporty
    hightech
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece

Technology & Features

    • 3D Diamond Shaping

      A diagonal term included in the 3D-Shaping number crunching allows for the bunching of wing fabric at sewn seams to be allowed for and minimised – not only for horizontal aerodynamic forces, as before, but now taking vertical profile loads into account as well. This results in a smoother surface at the important leading edge, and, yet again, even better performance.

      Reduced Line Setup

      More cells, fewer lines, more performance: even with seven more cells, compared with the SIGMA 9, the SIGMA 10 has 15 % fewer support points and therefore 11 % less line metres, thanks to the extensive tension and weight optimised Sliced Diagonals. The resulting performance increase is noticeable.

    • Enhanced Speed System

      A two gear speed system allows the SIGMA 10 speedbar loading and travel to be adjusted to suit the individual pilot’s leg length. This is achieved by changing the position at which one pulley’s action is blocked. The Speed Performance Indicator (SPI) provides a visual indication of the current accelerated situation on the polar curve, and C-Handles offer a comfortable means of active flying while accelerated.

      State of the Art Technology

      The most modern, performance-enhancing state-of-the-art technologies were incorporated in the SIGMA 10. Advanced Air Scoop Technology provides good-natured stall behaviour with clearly increasing brake loading as the stall is approached. C-Wires keep the profile in perfect shape, and Miniribs ensure a smooth trailing edge. 

Perfect weight range choice and optimally tuned for weight with a proper small size

The SIGMA 10 size selection was thought of as having Seamless Weight Ranges between 10 and 15 kg steps. Every pilot’s flying weight will find itself within only one ideal takeoff weight range, because these ranges extend seamlessly through the glider sizes, but do not overlap. These SIGMA 10 ideal takeoff weight areas provide the optimal relationship between gliding speed and climb performance for each size in all normal flying conditions, and also take into account the different paraglider size characteristics.

For the first time a Sigma comes out in five sizes, with a proper small size. What we mean is that the SIGMA 10/21 size, 60 - 77 kg takeoff weight range, is not just a scaled down version, but has materials and design features adapted for a small paraglider.

 

 

 

FAQ

Show all / Hide all

fold faq

What is required of a SIGMA 10 pilot?

The ADVANCE Sportster finds itself in the middle of the EN/LTF C class and is suitable for accomplished thermal pilots with cross country experience, who fly actively, understand canopy disturbances and can prevent them at their outset. It goes without saying that the pilot of a sports class paraglider should be competent to carry out the normal fast descent techniques.
When this is the case the outstanding performance potential of the SIGMA 10 can be fully utilised. The pilot will benefit from the high degree of pitch and directional stability – especially in bumpy air. The SIGMA 10 will then feel especially good and reward its pilot with improved performances.

fold faq

What are the differences between SIGMA 10 and SIGMA 9?

The SIGMA 10 is a completely new design. To accompany the many other details the aspect ratio is greater (now 6.16 flat compared with 5.8), there are seven more cells, Mini-Ribs at the trailing edge and C-Wires. The new design resulted in a saving of 11 % line metres. 3D Diamond Shaping produced an even smoother surface over the aerodynamically sensitive leading edge.
The certification is different. The SIGMA 9 was a low end EN/LTF C paraglider – the SIGMA 10 is classified as a middle C so demands a higher standard of piloting.
For comfortable active gliding in accelerated flight the SIGMA 10 has C-Handles. This XC-Sportster also comes out in five sizes with Seamless Weight Ranges instead of the usual four: and it is also available in the new and exclusive ADVANCE “Spectra” serial colour.

fold faq

Which SIGMA 10 size should I choose?

This is an easy one. If you fly in the usual variety of typical conditions your takeoff weight will feature in only one Ideal (Seamless) Weight Range. Decision made!

fold faq

Can I also fly the SIGMA 10 outside the Seamless Weight Ranges?

Absolutely! The Certified Weight Ranges are wider – and overlap as usual. The SIGMA 10 flies very well at either end of its certified ranges. Heavy or light – you have the choice. The ideal weight ranges were introduced to make the decision easy for those many who fly in the normal varied conditions. These ‘seamless’ ideal ranges have no gaps, but do not overlap, so there’s one size for a specific weight. But you are free to make your own choice within the Certified weight ranges.

Flying outside the Seamless weight ranges - in other words near the upper or lower Certified weight limits – can affect flying characteristics and handling, but will not compromise your safety. Glide ratio remains the same, but climb performance will change.

fold faq

Is SIGMA 10 packing difficult?

No, SIGMA 10 packing is easy. It’s much the same as other gliders with Nylon wire leading edges – with one difference, the C-wires. But if you gather the nose wires at the same level and leave them there the C-wires look after themselves. First collect the leading edge cell on cell, one side after the other, then gather the trailing edge, without pulling the leading edge out of alignment.

Fold the left and right folded lanes over into the middle, then one side over the other. Remember to change the centrefold lane sometimes to avoid wear.

Then fold the trailing edge in, on top of the C-wires, which should still be at one level. Fold the leading edge over at the ends of the nose wires – then again over the trailing edge half. That’s it. Don’t compress or pack too tightly – but this is always good paraglider advice.

Have a look at the How to Pack Film: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dCZ6EkSXOpk

  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece

Technical Data

SIGMA 10 2123252729
Flat surfacem22122.924.526.428.4
Projected surfacem21819.62122.624.3
Ideal weight rangekg65 - 7575 - 8585 - 9797 - 110110 - 125
Certified takeoff weightkg60 - 7770 - 8880 - 10092 - 114105 - 128
Glider weightkg4.454.754.855.155.45
Spanm11.4011.9012.3012.8013.25
Projected spanm9.109.509.8010.2010.60
Aspect ratio6.166.166.166.166.16
Projected aspect ratio4.64.64.64.64.6
Number of cells6666666666
Number of risers33333
Accelerator travel max.cm1112161718
CertificationEN / LTF D*EN / LTF CEN / LTF CEN / LTF CEN / LTF C

*) D only in the spiral, other manoeuvres EN / LTF C and lower.

  • The SIGMA 10 has very good performance. It is a very versatile and fun wing with good slow flying  qualities; and also very pleasant to fly.

    Yael Margelisch, Flying Instructor, Competition and Acro pilot

  • One of the most interesting paragliders for the current XC season because of its performance, its handling and comfort in flight; and that element of exclusivity found in this Swiss manufacturer’s paragliders.

    Daniel Crespo, Ojovolador

  • Der SIGMA 10 has very good directional, roll and pitch stability. This makes it not only comfortable to fly, but also very effective in turbulent air.

    Patrick von Känel, Test- and Cross Country pilot

  • In thermals the SIGMA 10 can be manoeuvred very precisely because the brake loading rises less steeply at the higher end of the steering range: a clear plus point compared with its predecessor.

    Sergio Waldmeier, Head of Airzone Flying School

Colours

Standard colours
grey
pacific
red
spectra

Special colours
White bottom sail
selected color-code:
White bottom sail
Bottom sail: with this combination only a white bottom sail is possible

Reviews

    • Advance Sigma 10
       

      duration: 1:56, views: 6209

    • ADVANCE Sigma 10
       

      duration: 2:53, views: 3042

    • Advance Sigma 10 , just a quicky
       

      duration: 4:18, views: 1980

    • Advance SIGMA 10 FRONTALS SIV
       

      duration: 5:14, views: 5016

Best flights XContest


 Test the SIGMA 10 
Test the SIGMA 10

Advance: Home
 


  • SIGMA 10 – Epic XC::16662
  • Features::16670
  • FAQ::16978
  • Technische Daten::16447
  • Farben::16448
  • Downloads::17184
  • Reviews::19647
  • Flüge::17664

SIGMA 10 - Epic XC

Der SIGMA 10 schreibt die Geschichte der legendären SIGMA-Serie fort. Mit einer Streckung von 6.16 und 66 Zellen positioniert sich das ADVANCE XC-Flaggschiff in der Mitte der EN/LTF-C Klasse. Der Hightech-Sportster kombiniert herausragende Leistung mit sportlicher Dynamik und souveränem Design. Beste Voraussetzung für epische Streckenflug-Erlebnisse.
  • Leistungsbenchmark in der Sportklasse

    Das Profil des SIGMA 10 basiert auf einer neuen technologischen Plattform, die sich komplett vom Vorgänger emanzipiert. Daraus resultiert ein immenser Leistungssprung. Der XC-Sportster ist nicht nur schnell, er nimmt im Geradeausflug auch jedes Steigen mit. Aufgrund seiner ausgewogenen Pitch-Stabilität, hohen Spurtreue und guter Turbulenzabsorption steigert der SIGMA 10 in bewegter Luft seine Performance sogar noch.

    Die neue Sportlichkeit

    Der SIGMA 10 begeistert mit einem angenehm spritzigen Handling, das den Piloten die Sportlichkeit des Flügels spüren lässt. Die Kappe zieht förmlich in die Thermik, kleinste Steuerimpulse werden präzise und direkt umgesetzt. Dieses spielerische Handling ermöglicht nicht nur ermüdungsfreies Fliegen über lange Strecken, es ist auch ein Garant für höchsten Flugspass.

    Modernste Features

    Im SIGMA 10 wurden modernste leistungssteigernde State-of-the-Art-Technologien integriert. Spannungs- und gewichtsoptimierte Sliced Diagonals sorgen für eine perfekte Kraftübertragung im Innenleben, die Advanced Air Scoop Technologie für tolerantes Abrissverhalten, C-Wires für maximale Formtreue des Profils und Miniribs für eine homogene Austrittskante. Er ist ausserdem in ADVANCE Qualitäts-Leichtbauweise gebaut und wiegt in Grösse 25 nur 4.9 kg.

  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece

Technologien & Features

    • 3D Diamond Shaping

      Durch eine diagonale Anordnung des 3D-Shapings wird der Nahtschrumpfung nicht nur wie bisher durch horizontale aerodynamische Kräfte entgegengewirkt, sondern auch durch in Profiltiefe wirkenden Zug. Daraus resultiert ein noch glatteres Segel im Bereich der strömungsempfindlichen Eintrittskante und eine noch bessere Leistung.

      Reduced Line Setup

      Mehr Zellen, weniger Leinen, mehr Leistung: Trotz sieben zusätzlicher Zellen im Vergleich zum Vorgänger konnte beim SIGMA 10 dank aufwändiger spannungs- und gewichtsoptimierter Sliced Diagonals die Anzahl der Aufhängepunkte um 15 % und damit die Leinenmeter um 11 % reduziert werden. Der daraus resultierende Leistungssprung ist markant.

    • Enhanced Speed System

      Mit dem 2-Phasen-Speedsystem kann der Beschleuniger des SIGMA 10 individuell konfiguriert und die Druckstärke sowie der Beschleunigerweg der Beingeometrie angepasst werden. Der Speed Performance Indicator (SPI) stellt eine visualisierte Polarenfunktion bereit, C-Handles bieten einen hohen Komfort beim aktiven beschleunigten Fliegen.

      Technologien State of the Art

      Im SIGMA 10 wurden modernste, leistungssteigernde State-of-the-Art-Technologien integriert. So bewirkt die Advanced Air Scoop Technologie ein gutmütiges Abrissverhalten mit deutlich zunehmenden Steuerkräften im Bereich des Stallpunkts. C-Wires sorgen für eine maximale Formtreue des Profils und Miniribs für eine homogene Austrittskante. 

Optimale Gewichtsabstimmung mit echter kleiner Grösse

Der SIGMA 10 wurde mit Seamless Weight Ranges im 10 bis 15 kg-Abstand konzipiert. Sie ermöglichen für jedes Körpergewicht einen nahtlosen Übergang von einer Grösse zur anderen. In diesem idealen Startgewichtsbereich weist der SIGMA 10 in sämtlichen Flugbedingungen das optimale Verhältnis zwischen Fluggeschwindigkeit und Steigen auf.

Erstmals gibt es den SIGMA 10 ausserdem in fünf Grössen mit einer echten kleinen Grösse. Will heissen, die Grösse 21 mit einem Startgewichtsbereich von 60 bis 77 kg wurde nicht nur einfach herunter gerechnet, sondern auch material- und konstruktionstechnisch den kleineren Verhältnissen angepasst.

FAQ

Alle anzeigen / Alle verbergen

Antwort auf/zuklappen

Welche Ansprüche stellt der SIGMA 10 an den Piloten?

Der ADVANCE-Sportster ist in der Mitte der EN/LTF C Klasse angesiedelt und eignet sich für versierte Thermikpiloten, die Streckenflugerfahrung mitbringen, aktiv fliegen sowie Kappenstörungen erkennen und im Ansatz verhindern. Dass die gängigen Abstiegsmethoden beherrscht werden müssen, versteht sich bei einem Gleitschirm der Sportklasse von selbst.
Unter diesen Voraussetzungen kann das herausragende Leistungspotenzial des SIGMA 10 voll ausgeschöpft werden. Die Piloten profitieren von der hohen Pitchstabilität und Spurtreue – besonders auch in bewegter Luft. Denn gerade dort fühlt sich der SIGMA 10 besonders wohl und glänzt mit zunehmender Leistung.

Antwort auf/zuklappen

Was sind die Unterschiede des SIGMA 10 im Vergleich zum Vorgänger SIGMA 9?

Der SIGMA 10 ist eine komplette Neukonstruktion. Das zeigt sich unter anderem in der Streckung (ausgelegt jetzt 6.16 im Vergleich zu 5.8), einem Plus an sieben Zellen, Mini-Ribs an der Austrittskante und C-Wires. Bedingt durch die neue Konstruktion konnten 11 % an Leinenmetern eingespart werden. Für ein noch glatteres Segel im Bereich der strömungsempfindlichen Eintrittskante kommt zudem erstmals 3D Diamond Shaping zum Einsatz.
Anders als der SIGMA 9, der im Anspruch an den Piloten im untersten EN/LTF C-Bereich angesiedelt war, ist der SIGMA 10 als Mitte EN/LTF C-Flügel zu klassifizieren und stellt damit höhere Anforderungen an das Pilotieren.
Für komfortables aktives Gleiten im beschleunigten Flug wurden die Tragegurte des SIGMA 10 mit C-Handles ausgestattet. Ausserdem ist der XC-Sportster mit Seamless Weight Ranges neu in fünf, statt nur in vier Grössen sowie in der neuen ADVANCE Exklusiv-Serienfarbe „Spectra“ erhältlich.

Antwort auf/zuklappen

Welche Grösse soll ich beim SIGMA 10 wählen?

Wenn du in unterschiedlichen Bedingungen fliegst, solltest du genau die Grösse im idealen Gewichtsbereich wählen, die deinem Startgewicht entspricht.

Antwort auf/zuklappen

Kann ich den SIGMA 10 auch ausserhalb der Seamless Weight Ranges fliegen?

Na klar! Die zugelassenen Gewichtsbereiche sind weiter gefasst, d. h. sie überschneiden sich. Auch in diesen fliegt der SIGMA 10 tiptop. Die idealen Gewichtsbereiche wurden nur eingeführt, um den Piloten die Wahl der richtigen Grösse zu erleichtern. Dadurch, dass die Bereiche nahtlos aneinander anschliessen, gibt es im Grunde kein „oder“ mehr, sondern nur noch: „Genau diese Grösse ist es.“

Das Fliegen ausserhalb des Seamless Weight Ranges, d. h. an der unteren bzw. oberen Gewichtslimite kann sich auf das Flugverhalten und auf das Handling des Gleitschirms auswirken, ohne jedoch die Sicherheit zu beeinträchtigen. Die Gleitleistung bleibt über den gesamten Gewichtsbereich dieselbe, die Steigleistung ändert sich jedoch.

Antwort auf/zuklappen

Stellt der SIGMA 10 ans Packen besondere Anforderungen?

Nein, das Packen des SIGMA 10 ist einfach. Zuerst werden die Zellen an der Eintrittskante von der Mitte beginnend erst zur einen Seite hin, dann erneut von der Mitte beginnend zur anderen Seite hin zusammengerafft. Dabei sollte darauf geachtet werden, dass die Rigid Foils der Eintrittskante möglichst flach aufeinander und vor allem auf der gleichen Höhe liegen. Dadurch sind automatisch auch alle C-Wires auf einer Ebene (wichtig fürs spätere Zusammenfalten). Anschliessend folgt der gleiche Prozess an der Austrittskante. Aufgrund der elliptischen Form der Gleitschirmkappe liegen die Zellen der Austrittskante am Ende nicht auf gleicher Höhe, sondern verkürzen sich zu den Ohren hin.

Die rechten und die linken Bahnen werden nun zur Mitte hin nach innen umgeschlagen und danach zusammen geklappt. Regelmässig um die Gleitschirmmitte herum versetztes Packen beansprucht nicht immer die gleichen Bahnen.

Der auf die Breite des Innenpacksacks gepackte Gleitschirm wird jetzt wie gewohnt zusammen gefaltet. Dazu wird zuerst die Austrittskante bis zur Höhe der C-Wires um- und dann die Eintrittskante unterhalb der Rigid Foils ein geklappt und anschliessend die untere Seite über die Eintrittskante gefaltet. Unnötiges Komprimieren und zu enges Packen sollte – wie bei jedem Gleitschirm – vermieden werden.

Packfilm anschauen: www.youtube.com/watch?v=azjOhRLvIF0

  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece
  • Picture: Felix Wölk  // Location: Greece

Technische Daten

  • SIGMA 10 2123252729
    Fläche ausgelegtm22122.924.526.428.4
    Fläche projiziertm21819.62122.624.3
    Idealer Gewichtsbereichkg65 - 7575 - 8585 - 9797 - 110110 - 125
    Zugelassenes Startgewichtkg60 - 7770 - 8880 - 10092 - 114105 - 128
    Gewicht Schirmkg4.454.754.855.155.45
    Spannweite ausgelegtm11.4011.9012.3012.8013.25
    Spannweite projiziertm9.109.509.8010.2010.60
    Streckung ausgelegt6.166.166.166.166.16
    Streckung projiziert4.64.64.64.64.6
    Maximale Flügeltiefem2.302.432.482.582.67
    Anzahl Zellen6666666666
    Anzahl Tragegurte33333
    Max. Beschleunigerwegcm1112161718
    ZulassungEN / LTF DEN / LTF CEN / LTF CEN / LTF CEN / LTF C
  • Eintrittskante Porcher Sport Skytex 38 universal
    Obersegel Porcher Sport Skytex 32 universal
    Untersegel Porcher Sport Skytex 32 universal
    Designstreifen Porcher Sport Skytex 32 universal
    Zellwände Porcher Sport Skytex 40 hard finish
    Zellzwischenwände Porcher Sport Skytex 32 hard finish
    Stammleinen Edelrid A-8000U-230/190/130/090
    Gallerieleinen Edelrid A-8000U-130/090/070/050
    Bremsleinen Edelrid A-8000U-050/070/190
    Steuerleinen Edelrid A-7850-240
    Tragegurte Liros Polyester/Technora 13mm, 850daN
    Leinenschlösser Peguet MR Delta 3.5mm / S12
    • COMFORTPACK 3
    • Innensack
    • Kompressionsband
    • Reparatur-Kit
    • Mini-Windsack
    • Booklet Getting started
  • Der SIGMA 10 ist sehr leistungsstark. Ein sehr vielseitiger und spielerischer Schirm mit guten Langsamflug-Eigenschaften, der zudem sehr angenehm zu steuern ist.

    Yael Margelisch, Fluglehrerin, Wettkampf- und Akropilotin

  • Einer der interessantesten Gleitschirme der aktuellen XC-Saison: aufgrund seiner Leistung, seines Handlings, Komforts im Flug und der Exklusivität, die dem Schweizer Herstellers anhaftet.

    Daniel Crespo, Ojovolador

  • Der SIGMA 10 ist sehr spurtreu, roll- und nickstabil. Das macht ihn einerseits sehr angenehm zu fliegen, andererseits ist er sehr effizient in bewegter Luft.

    Patrick von Känel, Test- und Streckenflugpilot

  • In der Thermik lässt sich der SIGMA 10 durch den geringen Steuerdruck im oberen Bereich sehr präzise manövrieren, ganz klar ein Pluspunkt gegenüber seinem Vorgänger.

    Sergio Waldmeier, Leiter der Flugschule Airzone

Farben

Standardfarben
grey
pacific
red
spectra

Sonderfarben
weisses Untersegel
selected color-code:
weisses Untersegel
Untersegel: Mit dieser Farbkombination ist nur ein weisses Untersegel möglich

Downloads

    • Kein Produkt ausgewählt.

      Reviews

        • Advance may well have produced their best glider of all time!

          Pat Dower,
          Cross Country, Edition 183

        • Der Sportklasseschirm gibt einem auch in harzigen Bedingungen das Gefühl, ständig Chef der Lage zu sein.

          Franz Sailer,
          Thermik Magazin, Ausgabe 7_2017

        • Das Resultat steht fest: Der SIGMA 10 ist extrem leistungsstark im Steigen.

          Cédric Nieddu,
          Parapente Mag, no 172

        • SIGMA 10 – Auszeichnung in der XC-Klasse!

          Jean-Gabriel Thillard,
          Parapente +, September-Oktober 2017

        • Advance SIGMA 10 (Paraglider Review) - Flybubble Paragliding
           

          duration: 4:51, views: 12126

        • Sigma 10 nice flight - Horst Friedmann
           

          duration: 17:39, views: 4829

        • Parapente test Advance Sigma 10 - Lolo Bird
           

          duration: 17:29, views: 3807

        • Vol Biv - paragliding from Italy to Slovenia and back - Kurosch Borhanian
           

          duration: 4:21, views: 2082

        • Advance Sigma 10 Low Save - upnupnup
           

          duration: 4:24, views: 4744

        • ADVANCE SIGMA 10 ANNECY 5 5 17 - kaly boy
           

          duration: 9:39, views: 5507

        • Advance Sigma 10 - Philip Brugger
           

          duration: 1:56, views: 8103

        • ADVANCE Sigma 10 - Gomez04100
           

          duration: 2:53, views: 4357

        • Advance Sigma 10 , just a quicky - upnupnup
           

          duration: 4:18, views: 2680

        • Advance SIGMA 10 FRONTALS SIV
           

          duration: 0:0, views:

      Flüge XContest


       SIGMA 10 testen 
      SIGMA 10 testen
      ADVANCE Newsletter abonnieren